QUESTIONS

If you have questions about the family
exemption under the PA UC Law, you may —

* Send an email to the department at
uc-news@pa.gov.

» Call the Employer Contact Center
at 1-866-403-6163 from 8 AM to
4:30 PM Monday through Friday.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For information about the PA UC program,
including information about UC taxation and
benefits, visit the department’s UC website at
WWW.UC.pa.gov.

*Employers are required to file quarterly
reports electronically. To file reports and
pay UC taxes electronically, visit the
department’s UC Management System
(UCMS) at www.uctax.pa.gov.
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THE FAMILY EXEMPTION

Section 4(1)(4)(5) of the Pennsylvania
Unemployment Compensation Law (PA
UC Law) excludes the following services
from “employment”:

 Services performed by an individual
in the employ of his son, daughter or
spouse, and

 Services performed by a child
under the age of 18 in the employ
of his father or mother.

In addition to blood relatives, the
exemption also applies to:

m Stepchildren and their parents
m Foster children and their parents
m Adopted children and their parents

If a worker’s services do not constitute
‘employment” the worker is not an
“‘employee” covered by the PA UC Law.
His or her remuneration should not be
included on the Employer’s Report for
Unemployment Compensation (Form
UC-2) and Employer’s Quarterly Report
of Wages Paid to Each Employee
(UC-2A).*

THE EMPLOYER’S BUSINESS
STRUCTURE AFFECTS THE
EXEMPTION.

If the employer is a sole proprietor, the
exemption applies if the worker has
an exempt family relationship to the
proprietor.

If the employer is a partnership, the
exemption applies only if the worker has
the required family relationship with all of
the partners.

If the employer is a corporation or limited
liability company (LLC), the exemption

is not applicable. A corporation is an
artificial entity that does not have family
relationships with any individuals. Under
Pennsylvania law, an LLC is treated as a
corporation for purposes of UC taxation.

The following are examples of
circumstances where the family
exemption does, and does not, apply.

EXAMPLE 1

The employer is a sole proprietor who
employs his spouse, his 20-year-old
son, his 17-year-old daughter and his
mother. The son would be a covered
employee because he is not under

the age of eighteen (18). The spouse,
daughter and mother of the proprietor
would be exempt from PA UC coverage.
However, the daughter would be a
covered employee if she continues to
work for her father after she reaches her
eighteenth birthday.

EXAMPLE 2

A daughter and her mother form a
partnership. The partnership employs
the spouse of the daughter, and the
daughter’s father who is the mother’s
spouse. The father / spouse is exempt
from PA UC coverage, because he has
an exempt family relationship with each

partner. The daughter’s spouse is a
covered employee under the PA UC Law.
While he is the spouse of one of the
partners, he is the son-in-law of the other
partner, which is not a relationship that is
included in the family exemption.

EXAMPLE 3

An individual and her brother form a
partnership that employs the spouse of
each of the partners. The spouses are
covered employees for PA UC purposes
because they do not have an exempt
family relationship with both partners.
Their relationship with the other

partner, brother-in-law and sister-in-law,
respectively, is not included in the family
exemption.

EXAMPLE 4

A corporation employs the spouse of its
100 percent shareholder and president.
The spouse is a covered employee under
the PA UC Law. Although the spouse has
an exempt family relationship with the
corporation’s principal, the corporation is
the employer, not the principal.

EXAMPLE 5

The employer is a sole proprietor who
employs his spouse’s 16-year-old
daughter from a previous marriage.
Even though the spouse’s daughter is
not a biological child of the proprietor,
she is the proprietor’s stepchild and is
under 18 years of age. Therefore, she
is not a covered employee for PA UC
purposes.



